BEAUTY, SKINCARE & HAIRCARE · GIRL TALK

GIRLTALK| MY NATURAL HAIR JOURNEY

This is a bit of an unusual post – a gratuitous one if you will. I just want to celebrate having managed to stay relaxer-free for 18 months!! woop woop!!

The 4th of august marked exactly a year and a half since I last used a relaxer on my hair.I’m so proud of myself! I decided to ‘go natural’ for a plethora of reasons. Mostly I just wanted to try something different- tempted by how awesome it would be to have healthy long full hair unprocessed by chemicals. I had lovely relaxed hair too which you can see in the video below from 3 years ago. As is evident, my relaxed hair was pretty decent so I decided my natural hair would be even more awesome hence the decision

Transitioning to natural hair has been challenging. I opted out of the big chop purely because I didn’t feel I could handle such a drastic change in the length in addition to the texture of my hair, at once. I wanted to do it on my own terms and at my own pace. Detangling has been the biggest challenge for me since I deal with two completely different textures of hair. What has really helped with that has been finger detangling (minimal combing is best. i know it sounds crazy but it works) and washing my hair in four sections. Doing protective styles like braids mostly and weaves occasionally has also helped.

These are most of the products that I have been using for the past year or so.

Conditioners -Aubrey Organics Honeysuckle & Rose, Tresemme Naturals, Aussie 3 min miracle.

Shampoos – Head & Shoulders menthol shampoo(helps a lot when I have dandruff!), kinky curly come clean shampoo( for when  I want that squeaky clean feel), VO5 vanilla mint cleansing conditioner(its smells so freaking good and doesn’t strip my hair).

Leave in conditioners – Cantu Shea Butter Leave in (great for braid-outs) Taliah Waajid “the detangler” (I use this specifically to detangle hair just taken out of braids/a weave. it is amazing!!), Kinky Curly Knot today, African Pride Shea Butter Miracle leave in conditioner (really softens and detangles).

Moisturisers – Elasta QP Mango Butter, Shea Butter, Water& Aloe Vera juice mix.

Oils -Coconut oil, Jojoba oil, Sweet Almond Oil, Castor oil, Tea tree oil , Grapeseed oil (all usually used after moisturiser or mixed in deep conditioner)

The fabulous thing about transitioning is that i get to enjoy the fullness of my natural hair since I am so far along, as well as the length my relaxed ends give. I do plan on cutting off my relaxed ends at my 2 year mark which will be 4th february 2014 but may do so earlier if i get scissor happy or can’t contain myself.

I wont lie, natural hair is a MISSION and a half but there’s something so beautiful about growing out your hair in the texture that is authentically yours. I was apprehensive when I first started considering  going natural, worried about my texture being too difficult to handle and having fickle (but just as valid) worries about me not looking attractive with ‘nappy’ hair.

Now i just think eff it! its my hair and it’s beautiful #teamnatural woop woop! As far as hair goals, ive gotten a lot of inspiration and tips from blogs like curly nikkias well as youtubers like Laila of fusionofcultureswho also transitioned for 2 years to natural hair. She has a similar texture to mine and this is the length i expect in the next year or two :)

4 thoughts on “GIRLTALK| MY NATURAL HAIR JOURNEY

  1. Wow thats really nice , just ran into ur blog some days back, been really excited especially after discovering we were class mates in the nigerian law school… Pls here is my bb pin feel free to add me 25AC2471…

Leave a Reply

