FEARLESS FRIDAYS · UPLIFT, INSPIRE & ENCOURAGE

Stop Caring What Others Think

IMG_0321

One of the biggest inhibitors to living a life of purpose and passion is worrying too much what others will think and letting that fear affect your choices.

What would you be doing if you only had 30 days to live? What is most important to you in life? What legacy do you want to leave behind when you die? If you keep wondering whether Aunty X and Uncle Y will be comfortable with what you want to do, you’ll never move forward. Every Nigerian has a PHD in unsolicited advice so they will definitely tell you what they think. It is left for you to take it under advisement.

Care about what other people think and you will always be their prisoner.
Lao Tzu

If you don’t root for yourself and fight for what you truly want, no one else will. You are your own first love. You are your own sincerest advocate. As they say ‘only the wearer knows where the shoe pinches.’ The only person who will feel the debilitating pain of never having chased your dreams or lived the way you’ve always wanted to, is you. The person who laughed at you or gossiped about you will also forget about you if don’t accomplish anything. People are fickle like that, so why attach so much weight to their opinions?

Believe in your flyness, conquer your shyness.
Kanye West

I’m going to sign off with a super inspiring video by Shameless Maya from youtube. She chased her dreams despite all the challenges she had and I believe something that contributed to her success is the fact that she was resilient enough to keep going regardless of how other people defined her or whether they disapproved, and just did her thing.

I’m imploring you all to do your thing. Stop procrastinating or hiding the the shadows. Be who the hell you want to be. Live a life that you will look back on and be proud of. Im personally on that exhilarating journey and you can hold me to that . I don’t want to wake up aged 40 and realise that I made all my choices based on what other people would be comfortable with. Anyone who doesn’t like who I am and the choices I make is more than welcome to piss off! :P

I know my passion, I know my values and I know me. Who the hell are they?

Have a lovely weekend!!!

2 thoughts on “Stop Caring What Others Think

  1. “… Every Nigerian has a Ph.D. in unsolicited advice.” Lol. Funny, but true. This is inspiring, especially for someone like me who is just learning not to depend on people’s opinion or motivation to make personal decisions. I have enjoyed reading your posts this week. Can I suggest a book review? Yes, “I am pilgrim” by Terry Hayes. I enjoy your book reviews. Have a lovely weekend too! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

