FEARLESS FRIDAYS · UPLIFT, INSPIRE & ENCOURAGE

Redefining Yourself

 We have all marvelled, watching someone we know pursue and become successful at something we never imagined would be their ‘thing’.  That person might have taken a huge risk to get there or gone against what they were brought up to believe they were capable of. Perhaps they just believed in themselves and kept going while the chill of people’s doubts numbed their skin. They understood one thing I took a while to learn – Your life choices should not cater to anyone’s insecurities.

 

Making the decision to change a significant aspect of your life takes courage. We are all casualties of the desire to live up to what the people closest to us see us as, and only that. This is a dangerous thing. No other human being will know all that you yearn for, or are capable of, the way you do. It is not the job of your parent, best friend, spouse or mentor to coach you through, when it’s time to make a career change, take on significant responsibility/sacrifice, or move to another part of the world. They may occasionally be able to read your mind but they certainly cannot intuit the full spectrum of your purpose in life. You have to trust yourself and commit to your own vision.

I am personally in this transitional journey, and this early on, I can already tell that taking the steps to move closer to my dreams is the best decision I have ever made.  My favourite quotation, which I shared in my very first blog post here, still remains the words of George Elliot.

‘Its never too late to be who you might have been.’

So I encourage you to open yourself up to the possibility that you have more to offer than you think you do. You are not too young or too old to start chasing a new dream. Just start where you are now. Trying new things and openness to adventure or even responsibility is a good way to discover your self afresh. My faith has helped me understand that there is far more within my ability, than I can imagine.

Don’t waste your time wondering how people will react to the changes you make or the new part of yourself you want to explore. Beyond a raised eyebrow or an insensitive comment, they really don’t care what you do. Elizabeth Gilbert expressed it well in her book ‘Big Magic’

‘We all spend our twenties and thirties trying so hard to be perfect, because we’re so worried about what people will think of us.Then when we get to our forties and fifties, we finally decide that we don’t give a damn what anyone thinks of us. But you won’t be completely free until you reach your sixties and seventies, when you finally realize this liberating truth -nobody was ever thinking about you anyhow. They aren’t, they weren’t, they never were. People are mostly just thinking about themselves. People don’t have time to worry about what you’re doing, or how well you’re doing it, because they’re all caught up in their own dramas’

If you have big dreams, and no one is supporting you, among your friends and family. Please know that I am rooting for you massively.  I believe in you! Just imagine me in the background with my cheerleader pom poms.  Don’t go expecting any flips and somersaults though. Beyond pretty weak chanting and arm-waving, you’re on your own, mate.

PS: Just because I haven’t said it in a while and its something I will never take for granted, THANKYOU to everyone who reads and supports my blog. It means an enormous amount to me. Its a privilege to connect with others while doing something I love in the spirit of fun and positivity. You guys are perfectly cut precious stones. <3

Have a delightful weekend!

2 thoughts on “Redefining Yourself

Leave a Reply

